Lynne Oakvik

Broward County Public Schools

Lynne OakvikAs the district administrator for Library Media programs, Lynne oversees all administrative activities of BCPS Library services providing instructional, operational, and professional development support to 160 library media specialists in 228 elementary, middle, high school and centers. Lynne is responsible for collaborating with school administrators and district staff to ensure effective implementation of library programs and resources that align with the District’s strategic plan and Library Media Department’s vision and mission; managing the District’s budget for library media purchasing and acquisition including hardware, software and online academic databases; and evaluating District purchases of online academic databases and digital content to assure alignment with state standards to support curriculum and increase student achievement. She is responsible for overseeing all media center facility renovations working with district staff to accommodate new educational specifications for school libraries spaces that include expanding network integration, equipment, and curriculum integration needs to support future ready schools that embrace digital teaching and learning. Since 2013, she has served as the lead Curriculum Supervisor for Innovations for Learning (IFL) a K-1 grade level iPad program in 13 Title 1 schools. An active advocate for school and public libraries, Lynne monitors changes in local, state, and national legislation related to library media and instructional resources, (e.g., digital resources, content and devices) analyzes its impact, and works collaboratively with various internal and external stakeholders to increase awareness and support for library programs. She currently serves on the District Technology Committee (TAC), Digital Content/Software Committee, and Broward County’s Campaign for Grade Level Reading committee and is a member of the American Library Association (ALA), American Association of School Librarians (AASL), International Society of Technology Educators (ISTE), Florida Association of Media Educators (FAME), Florida Association of Supervisors of Media (FASM) and Broward County Association of Media Specialists (BCAMS).