The Lilead Project

Four 15/16 Lilead Fellows Elected to AASL Board of Directors

AASL elections have closed, and four 2015/2016 Lilead Fellows have secured spectacular leadership positions on the Board of Directors!

Kathryn Lewis, Director of Media Services and Instructional Technology for Norman Public Schools, OK, is the new President-Elect. She will follow after current President Audrey Church of Longwood University in VA. Kathryn has already played a pivotal role in AASL, serving as co-writer of the AASL/Achieve document, Implementing the Common Core State Standards: The Role of The School Librarian Action Brief, as well as Past Chair of the Supervisors Section of AASL.

Ann Morgester, Supervisor of Library Services for Anchorage School District, AK, will serve as the Region 8 Director. She will take over from Craig Seasholes of Sanislo Elementary School in WA. Morgester will add her new AASL position to a long resume of committee positions (because everyone knows she won’t say no).

Maria Petropulos, District Library Coordinator for the Selma Unified School District, CA, has been elected Chair-Elect of the AASL Supervisors Section. Alongside her leadership and advocacy positions, Maria is also an adjunct faculty member for Fresno Pacific University where she teaches in the School Library Graduate program.

Erin Downey, District Consulting Librarian at Boise School District in Boise, ID, will serve as Secretary for the AASL Supervisors Section. Erin is currently also an active member of the Library Leadership Advisory Committee (LiLAC) in Idaho, and an avid presented at local and national conferences.

Erin and Maria will join 15/16 Lilead Fellow Sarah Searles, who serves as the AASl-SPVS Representative until 2019. Sarah is the K-12 Specialist in Library Media Services for the Knox County Schools in Knoxville, Tennessee.

We are so proud of the leadership of the Fellows, and know that they will go above and beyond to succeed in their new roles.